The Stirling Arms has undergone many changes over time, and seen numerous publicans and visitors since it was built in 1852.
Guildford, Western Australia, was one of the first three towns in the Swan River Colony (alongside Perth and Fremantle) and was established in 1829. The Stirling Arms Hotel was completed during a period of growth for the Swan River Colony, with the start of convict transportation in 1850.
We wanted to commemorate our rich history with a Pictorial History Book, which is available for download here:
The book has been prepared by Rachel Squire with research by Barbara Dundas. It is copyright and no photos can be reproduced without permission of licensed owners. Every attempt has been made to contact image owners and any oversight can be further discussed. We acknowledge the support of the Swan Guildford Historical Society and Midland Local History Library, staff of the State Records Office of WA, Battye Library, and Landgate for images.